OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES BRADY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees for the Brady Independent School District met in special session at 6:00 p.m. on Monday, June 6, 2016 in the Administration Office.

PRESENT Sandra Keith, Michael Probst, Brentt Raybion, Ed Hernandez, Fernando

Lafuente, and Brendan Weatherman

ABSENT Jim Kitchens

PLEDGE & Mr PRAYER

Mr. Weatherman

ADMINISTER OATH OF OFFICE Barbara Landry administered the Oath of Office to newly elected Board of Trustees Teri Trull, Single Member District 4, and Connie Locklear, Single Member District 6.

Mr. Weatherman, Trustee for Single Member District 4 exited the meeting.

REORGANIZE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Elect President

Mr. Hernandez nominated Mr. Probst. Mr. Probst nominated Mr. Raybion. A motion was made by Ms. Trull, seconded by Mr. Lafuente that nominations cease. Mr. Probst expressed his thanks for being nominated but he would like to withdraw his nomination to run as president. A motion was made by Ms. Locklear, seconded by Mr. Lafuente and carried 7-0 to name Mr. Raybion as President.

Elect First Vice-President

Mr. Lafuente nominated Mr. Probst. A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Mr. Lafuente and carried 7-0 that nominations cease and Mr. Probst be named First Vice President.

Elect Second Vice-President

Ms. Keith nominated Mr. Lafuente. A motion was made by Mr. Probst, seconded by Ms. Trull and carried 7-0 that nominations cease and Mr. Lafuente be named Second Vice President.

Elect Secretary

Mr. Prost nominated Ms. Keith. A motion was made by Ms. Trull, seconded by Mr. Lafuente and carried 7-0 that nominations cease. A motion was made by Mr. Lafuente, seconded by Mr. Probst and carried 7-0 that Ms. Keith be named Secretary.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board of Trustees went into executive session at 6:08 p.m. after President Brentt Raybion announced the intention of doing so in accordance with Texas Government Code, Subchapter D., Section 551.074 regarding personnel issues.

Mr. Raybion declared the session open at 6:57 p.m.

ACCEPT RESIGNATIONS BE A motion was made by Mr. Probst, seconded by Ms. Keith and carried 7-0 to accept from the Elementary campus the resignations of **Angela Lange**, **Amanda Leamons**, and **Heather Watson**, effective the end of the current contract year per recommendation by Johnny Clawson, Superintendent.

ACCEPT RESIGNATIONS MS A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Mr. Lafuente and carried 7-0 to accept from the Middle School campus the resignations of **Jennifer Marshall**, effective the end of the current contract year and **Shelby Lehmberg**, effective immediately, per recommendation by Johnny Clawson, Superintendent.

EMPLOY AS NEW HIRES BE A motion was made by Mr. Probst, seconded by Mr. Lafuente and carried 7-0 to hire the following with a probationary contract as Elementary teachers subject to assignment **Sarah Caughern**, **Amy Freeman**, and **Elizabeth Ibarra** for the 2016-2017 school year per recommendation by Mr. Clawson.

EMPLOY AS NEW HIRES MS A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Mr. Probst and carried 7-0 to hire the following with a probationary contract **Kelly Elliott**, Grade 7 ELA/Reading teacher, and **Kaitlin Vernon**, Grade 8 Social Studies teacher for the 2016-2017 school year per recommendation by Mr. Clawson.

EMPLOY AS NEW HIRES HS A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Ms. Trull and carried 7-0 to hire the following with a probationary dual contract **Scott Freeman** High School ELA teacher/Head Baseball Coach for the 2016-2017 school year per recommendation by Mr. Clawson.

EMPLOY AS HS PRINCIPAL A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Mr. Lafuente, and carried 7-0 to hire with a two year contract beginning July 1, 2016 and ending June 30, 2018, **Russell Baldwin** as High School Principal per recommendation by Mr. Clawson.

ADJOURN

A motion was made by Ms. Keith, seconded by Mr. Probst and carried 7-0 to adjourn the meeting at 7:01 p.m.

Board President

Board Secretary